For A Good Eye Doctor Orange County Offers A Recommendable Destination

By Gary Murray

The other name for eye doctors is eye care professionals normally shortened as ECP. They are medical practitioners who specialize in provision of services specific to eyes or vision. These specialists have varying levels of training and education. Such levels range from doctoral level education to simple post-secondary training. In light of this definition, there are lots of medical specialists who fall under this category. When in need of an Eye Doctor Orange County should be visited.

The main kinds of ECPs include ophthalmologists, ophthalmic medical practitioner, optometrists, orthoptists, optometrists, oculists, opticians, ocularists, ophthalmic medical personnel, and vision therapists. All these practitioners play different roles in ensuring that people have a good vision. They also have different levels of training and knowledge in this field. As such, they are qualified to handle different kinds of disease as well as different levels of diseases.

Ophthalmologists refer to medical and osteopathic doctors who are qualified to offer comprehensive eye care. Their level of training allows them to offer optical, surgical, and medical care. Different countries have different qualification requirements for these practitioners. In the United States, ophthalmologists are required to complete 4 years of college and another 4 years of medical school. They then must complete a year of general internship, 3 years of residency, and another 1 to 2 years of optional fellowship.

In general, one must complete between 12 and 14 years of post-secondary education for them to qualify to work as ophthalmologist. The surgical and medical exams that one must complete in order to qualify are both intensive and extensive. The entrance criteria into this career is also very competitive, which means that only the best qualify.

Ophthalmologists are free to choose which area to specialize in. Some of the areas available for specialization include cornea, glaucoma, pediatric ophthalmology, retina, uveitis, laser vision, and pathology among numerous others. If one has ophthalmic training but has not yet underwent specialization training, they are referred to as ophthalmic medical practitioners. These practitioner are usually holders of a medical degree and are trained enough to treat various medical condition that affect eyes.

Optometrist is another eye specialist. These professionals have OD which means a doctor of Optometry. Part of their academic qualification includes four years of college and other 4 years spent at optometry training institution. This is then followed by one year optional residency. They are intensively trained and equipped with medical and refractive knowledge. Entrance into this field is associated with competitiveness. These specialists are qualified to treat disorders and diseases of the eye.

The specialty of optometrists lies in optics and vision correction. In the United States, they are adequately trained to perform minimally invasive surgeries. The procedures they are allowed to perform include meibomian gland expression and removal of foreign bodies from eyes. Besides this, they also treat, prevent, and diagnose lots of conditions specific to vision.

Orthoptists are specialized in the diagnosis and management of problems related to the movement and coordination of eyes. They also handle problems that related to accommodation and convergence problems, misaligned visual axis, strabismus, binocular vision, and amblyopia. Part of their job may involve providing assistance to ophthalmologists during surgery and teaching orthoptic students. Orthoptists may also take part in research in a hospital or other medical institutions.

About the Author:

No comments:

Post a Comment

©2012-2014 All Rights Reserved Bestfit34.